Skip to Content

Published on September 01, 2018

NKCH Welcomes New Medical Staff President

Michael W. Farrar, MDMichael W. Farrar, MD, FACC, FASE, a cardiologist with Meritas Health Cardiology, is North Kansas City Hospital’s new medical staff president. He began his one-year term July 1, 2018.

Dr. Farrar earned his medical degree with distinction from the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine in 1979. He completed his internal medicine residency, for which he was a chief resident, and cardiology fellowship at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center in 1983 and 1986, respectively.

A specialist in cardiovascular disease, echocardiography and electrocardiography, he is a fellow of the American College of Cardiology and the American Society of Echocardiography.

Dr. Farrar is responsible for providing leadership to his colleagues and acting as a liaison between the medical staff and the hospital’s administration and Board of Trustees. “Mike’s 30 years of service to North Kansas City Hospital patients exemplifies his unwavering commitment to our mission to provide hope and healing to every life we touch,” said Gary Carter, MD, North Kansas City Hospital chief medical officer. “His vast experience, exceptional ability to foster relationships with colleagues, and tremendous vision make him the perfect fit for this crucial medical staff leadership role.”

Dr. Farrar has served the hospital in various capacities over the years. He currently is chair of the Medical Executive Committee, co-director of the Noninvasive Arterial Vascular Laboratory, chair of the Continuing Medical Education Committee, ex officio member of the Board of Trustees, and a member of the Quality Committee. He was medical director of Cardiac Rehabilitation and director of the Chest Pain Center, Coronary Care Unit and the ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction Program. He has been chair of the Cardiovascular Subcommittee and a member of the Advanced Practice Professionals, Finance, Medical Advisory, Pharmacy and Therapeutics, and Scholarship Fund committees, as well as the Emergency Department and STEMI subcommittees.

He succeeds Steven B. Smith, MD, an orthopedic surgeon with Northland Orthopedics & Sports Medicine, past president. Gerald Y. Park, MD, a urologist with Kansas City Urology Care, and Alexis H. Meredith, MD, a pulmonologist with Meritas Health Pulmonary Medicine, are president- elect and secretary treasurer, respectively.