Skip to Content

Published on July 01, 2019

NKCH Welcomes New Medical Staff President

Gerald Park, MDGerald Y. Park, MD, a urologist with Kansas City Urology Care, is North Kansas City Hospital’s new medical staff president. He began his one-year term July 1, 2019.

Dr. Park earned his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston in 1995. He completed his general surgery residency and urology residency, for which he was chief resident, at the University of Kansas Medical Center in 1997 and 2000, respectively.

An early adopter of robotic surgery, Dr. Park performed NKCH’s first robotic procedure, a prostatectomy, in 2006. He is a leader in the field of robotic surgery, having performed more than 1,000 procedures, including adrenalectomies, partial nephrectomies, pyeloplasties, prostatectomies, and radical cystectomies and nephrectomies. He also has an interest in minimally invasive surgery, such as laser enucleation for prostatic hyperplasia.

As medical staff president, Dr. Park provides leadership to his colleagues and acts as a liaison between the medical staff and the hospital’s administration and Board of Trustees. “My goal is to represent the NKCH medical staff as we seek to continue our high level of clinical care, personal compassion and ongoing commitment, so we may continue our culture of excellence and cooperation,” Dr. Park said. “North Kansas City Hospital is a very special place, and I hope to carry on the tradition of outstanding leadership and professional service.

Dr. Park has served the hospital in various capacities, including as chair of the Surgery Department, Operating Room Subcommittee and Surgery Advisory Committee. His current and former roles also include being a member of the Infectious Disease Committee, Medical Executive Committee, Medicine Advisory Committee, Oncology Care Subcommittee and several ad hoc committees, including as chair of the Robotics Ad Hoc Committee, as well as the cancer liaison physician.

He succeeds Michael W. Farrar, MD, FACC, FASE, a cardiologist with Meritas Health Cardiology, past president. Joseph B. Eisenach, MD, a gastroenterologist with Consultants in Gastroenterology, and Steven B. Smith, MD, an orthopedic surgeon with Northland Orthopedics & Sports Medicine, are president-elect and secretary treasurer, respectively.